“Don’t complain about snow in Siberia”

Typing this on the train, on my way home right now. It’s 11.54 and I’m just halfway on the journey home. I have to admit that while studying law has always been the childhood dream of mine, I do question myself countless of times if I’m actually cut out for this. Almost everyone around me seem to be able to get good grades with ease. Or grades that are better than mine. I’m not particularly stressed out by grades, because I know that my true value doesn’t lie within numbers and decimal places. But when mediocrity throws itself in your face every now and then, you do inevitably end up questioning yourself. And I wonder at times, if the amount of work we’re putting in is actually worth it. 

My contract law prof said a couple of things that really struck me though. And while I can’t remember the exact wording, I’ll try to express them as exactly as she said. 

1) “ You chose one of the hardest degrees to study and you’re complaining that it’s hard?!” 

2) “Medical students cut dead bodies. Law students read cases” – on the workload and unpleasant aspects of the course 

3) (and also my favourite) “Don’t complain about snow in Siberia” 

It really got me thinking. I knew law was handwork, and I knew what I was getting myself into. I wanted it, I fought for it, and I got it. So why complain? 

The 1st point wasn’t meant to come across in arrogance, and I apologise if it is perceived with some inflated form of course-superiority. It’s to be read with the second point – that all courses have their unpleasantries. A science student has to do lengthy lab sessions, an engineering student has to do crazy calculus, a geography student has to do field work. Medical students have to face dead bodies and likewise, law students have to face the reading load. Even if it means over a hundred pages of readings just to prepare for one lesson. 

The bottom line is pretty clear actually : Suck it up, or leave. 

Sometimes, we do need the cold reality knocked into us. And while it is only human to rant a little at times, we shouldn’t let it get ahead of us and turn it into a pity party. 

So yes, I’m alright (: tired, a little discouraged, but I’ll be fine because I know I want to be fine. The grades aren’t showing but I’ll keep working. 

For some reason I was crazily tired today. The kind of tiredness that makes you feel as though you just wish to crash and take a good long sleep. Headed for dinner, came back and slept for half an hour, drank my yuan yang si bing (more on that later) and suddenly, I was all up and ready to go again. Research paper due tomorrow and midterms on saturday. For the first time since I can remember, I skipped both ballet classes tonight. Trying to get my priorities right and trying to juggle my time. I realise, juggling your time between commitments is a process that never ends. HAHA. In the sense that you’ll never be able to fully master it – Like splitting your time between studying for mid terms and finishing your research paper, or skipping dance lessons because dance exams are a little (though just a little) further down the road and you can afford to make up for it a little later. 

On a side note, I’m so relieved that my dance exams do not clash with finals after all. Finals end on the 19th of April while dance exams are on the 22nd, which gives me (considerably) a lot of time in between. 

Oh yes, the yuan yang si bing. 

Yuanyang is this really awesome drink that I’ve been nuts over with since my IB days. It’s basically a mix between coffee and tea. (or rather, teh, so suit the context here better HAHA) 

I love tea, and I love teh bing. However, the teh bing outside is so overly sweet it gets a bit jialat. So i’ll ask for teh bing siew dai (which means less sugar). But, asking for siew dai makes the teh bing taste a little weird at times. While I’m used to drinking tea without sugar and milk, the tea in coffee shops/ yakun type of shops have this particular taste which makes it a little yucky to take without sugar/milk. And then there’s teh si which means they use carnation milk instead of condensed milk. So it’s “thinner” and less sweet. 

yes, I’ve been very well educated by my peers. HAHAHA. I’ve come a long way since my IB days where I couldn’t even order a cup of “teh bing” from the coffee shop. 

Okay. so back to yuan yang. 

I love coffee. But somehow I can only stomach the cafe type. The espresso shots with steamed milk. For some reason, I really cannot tolerate the after taste of the coffee from coffee shops. But there are financial constraints, so I can’t go around getting cafe – coffee that costs more than or the equivalent of my lunch every day. On the other hand, I really need the caffeine that tea doesn’t adequately provide. 

So I turn to yuan yang. It doesn’t have the terrible after taste of coffee shop coffee, and neither is it as jialat as teh. So I really love it ‘cause its perfect. Although I think that only one auntie in koufu can make the perfect cup of yuan yang si bing ^^ But, for a drink under $1.50 that keeps me awake and happy, there honestly isn’t much to complain about 😀 

I’m dreading having to go back to school at 9pm on saturday for a BGS meeting :/ Really wish I could drive the family car to school. It’s ridiculously annoying that I can’t take the car out when it’s idling in the carpark. I mean, I know petrol costs money and that the car insurance doesn’t cover drivers on probation like myself but not being able to drive myself around just makes me wonder why I even bothered spending so much time and money during my holidays to get a license in the first place. It’s freaking frustrating to be honest ugh. When you’re so stressed up over school and tired of having to go to school for project meetings on every other weekend, the last thing you want to worry is about transport. Having to squeeze on crowded trains and taking an hour (minimally) to get to school because of the inefficiency of the system. That’s like two hours or more of travelling time back and forth which is double of the time you’d take if you could drive. The amount of time saved could be used to do so much more ughhh. Especially on days I’ve to rush for dance after school. Changing trains/buses and all can take up to 1.5 hours of travelling time whereas driving to the dance school would just take half an hour max. Surely, driving to school on a day or two every week isn’t too much to ask for? >[ 

Leave a Reply

