One year on

law camp1So, it has been one year on since I entered law school, and I picked this picture not only because it is my favourite picture out of the entire law camp 2014 album, but also because it was taken during my second law camp. I was in a different capacity this time though; I was in the organizing committee for this year’s law camp. There were plenty of hiccups along the way, but I don’t regret joining the committee.

A year ago, I was an ignorant freshie who was not even able to recognize which building housed which faculty. I had no idea what the acronyms for the various textbooks meant, and I was just like a headless fly who didn’t know how to pick my textbooks. It didn’t occur to me to start doing my readings before the start of the semester either – I ended up drowning in work and a lot of self-induced stress during sem 1, which was reflected by my GPA I guess. Ofcourse, I soon found my footing with the help of some of the kindest and most caring people I’ve ever met, and although law school remained a very tiring affair, there was a strange form of joy within it.

I’ve questioned myself countless times if law school was the right choice, or if it was merely a childhood dream I should have never pursued.

But one thing’s for sure – I don’t regret it, and this one year has made me a stronger and better person than I was.

Most importantly, law school has taught me to walk away – from both competition and people.

Leave a Reply

