The Kway Chap

Happiness can be pretty simple. It’s encapsulated in one word – food. Or perhaps two words – good food.

As much as many will turn their noses up that this, I’ve always unabashedly declared my love for innards. It naturally follows that I absolutely love kway chap. For those unacquainted with this dish, it is made up of fatty pork (the same type of meat you get from a serving of siew yok – roasted pork), pig skin, braised tofu, tau pok, braised eggs, and ofcourse, innards (usually intestines). It’ll be covered in thick yummy braised sauce, with a small bowl of kway teow on the side.

Perhaps I should qualify the first definition of happiness now. Happiness is good food, with people you love.

It has been a long while since I’ve had the time to have lunch with my family after church on Sundays. It usually is a mad rush to the library to rush some readings or complete some work. They’ve been hooked onto a new makan place of late – Maxwell food centre. And I had the chance to tag along last Sunday.

My mum has always had a sensitive radar for good hawker food. Perhaps it’s because grand dad was a chef, so both mum and I have picky taste buds for good hearty hawker food, as well as indulgent Chinese cuisines. Have I ever mentioned that I think my mum’s steamed fish is the absolute best? Oh, and soups too. Yes, I’m cantonese, so I drink soups by the gallons.

Now this kwaychap is honestly one of the best I’ve tasted. My mum usually shuns this dish as she believes that they won’t clean the innards properly at the hawker stalls. But she was raving about this one – which meant it must have been pretty good. So let’s start.

1) Portions.

one word – abundant. Oh and, it was just $3.50.

2) The eggs

perfectly done. Boiled long enough such that the whites came off as nice, smooth slices when you bit into them, with the right level of “hardness”

3) The fatty pork & pig skin

perfect.

4) Innards

Clean, fresh, chewy, odourless

5) Sauce

Wonderful. Not too overpowering, and I like how they used separate sauces for the ingredients and the kwayteow. Most hawkers nowadays just drench the ingredients with the same sauce as the kway teow.

In case you’re wondering, there were no edits done on the picture above at all.

mannnnn, I would love another plate of that right now, but I’m pretty glad I’ll only get to eat it on Sundays. hahaha. It definitely isn’t a healthy dish.

But then again, that’s why gluttony is a sin.

On a side note, TWO MORE DAYS TO CHRISTMAS!

Leave a Reply

