Me Time – A Journey Inwards 

     
Hello from bali!(: 

I’ll be away for quite a bit as I decided to take a 3 week trip to Bali for some time alone. I’ll be spending slightly more than 2 weeks in Gili air (the quieter of the three gili islands) and about 4-5 days in Ubud. Ubud’s the cultural hub of Bali and also where the padi fields lie. I chose it mainly for safety reasons, but also because I realise I don’t really like the bustling cities; they tire me out. 

Here’s a picture of my little home for the next two weeks or so. I’ve been here for a couple of days now and I’ve got a nice little cottage to myself which is surrounded by pretty hibiscus plants with a nice verenda and a hammock. Just about all I need for a peaceful getaway don’t you think ? The chickens here are really noisy though, they start at around four in the morning and they don’t seem to stop till it is dark. But they taste great, and so do their eggs. 

I managed to rent this little cottage at a relatively affordable rate due to the duration of my stay, as well as the location of this place – it isn’t along the beach like most of the hotels and villas, but in the middle of the village instead. It is a little challenging getting back at night but I think it is a worthy trade off for the peace I get in exchange(: I’m glad I chose this place to go on a personal retreat. It’s a relatively safe place and the locals have been really helpful. It has been a really conducive place to study God’s word and enjoy some novels too ! Only downside is that it gets dark before 7 and I’m quite afraid of the dark, so getting dinner becomes a bit of a chore at times :/

I’ve been diving a bit and there are plenty of turtles here. Hoping to see a shark or manta before I leave! Wifi is pretty bad here. I get a little of it at my host’s over breakfast (which is served with fruits, pancakes or toast with scrambled eggs and pretty great Lombok coffee), and when I visit some fancy beach cafes – which I hardly do because they’re pricey and the food isn’t half as great as the local warungs. 

But not having wifi is good as well. It gives me a lot more time to read and write, which is what I intended to do anyway. The past few days have been great and I hope it stays that way. 

I’m so glad I mustered the guts to travel because everytime I travel, I learn a little more about myself. 

For a journey outwards, is always one that leads inwards. 

Leave a Reply

